Mog and Gom Books and Resources


Follow the adventures of Mog and Gom as they meet the inhabitants of King Earon's Park, find the missing Wogom rocks and rescue their friends. Mog and Gom are a highly motivational series of 72 books covering Phases 2-5 of Letters and Sounds.
Whereas our Letters and Sounds resources all use photo mnemonics, our Mog and Gom resources all use the illustrated mnemonics with patters. The phonic progression is exactly the same but the Mog and Gom series has been split into 12 units instead of 5 phases. Either sets of decodable books can be used with each other but to ensure fidelity please choose one type of classroom resource (e.g. flash cards, mnemonic cards, friezes).

Books Feature:

  • A structured, cumulative progression covering all Phases 2-5
  • A new book for every grapheme (spelling)
  • Exactly matched to the Letters and Sounds progression
  • Each book has the graphemes (spellings) printed on the front
  • Fully decodable with a gradual introduction of tricky words
  • Each book includes a game using the focus phoneme

Inside covers feature:

Each unit has 6 books covering the following:

Letters and Sounds Phase 2:

Letters and Sounds Phase 3:

Letters and Sounds Phase 4:

Letters and Sounds Phase 5:

More than just books, Mog and Gom Resources:

  • Mnemonic Cards
  • Alphabet Frieze
  • Phoneme Frieze
  • Grow the Code Posters and Charts
  • Grapheme Cards

Guidance, assessment and daily lesson plans:

Progression of decodable books